9 Bags of rubbish and a teddy found from east beach and the harbour. Thanks to all the volunteers who turned up (around 30 kids and adults). Part of a great UK effort by surfers Against Sewage volunteers where 170 beaches cleaned and 10 tonnes of rubbish removed that week!! Will outline future dates!


We had quite a few firsts for Scottish National competitions :

  • 11026145_982304555144610_4466742818753474243_nThe Junior division was the largest of all the divisions (the first time in this competitions history with quarter finals, semi finals and finals)
  • We had two very young kids making the junior final (the youngest ever Ben Larg from Tiree/Moray (10yrs) 2nd and Clover Christopherson from Dunbar (13yrs) 4th)!
  • Andrew Robertson won the Juniors and also won the Open Division aged 17yrs, the first under 18 ever to win either the Gatherings or National open division! An amazing achievement.
  • The team competition was also won for the first time by a team outside Thurso or Fraserburgh – MORAY took the honours.

The event was super friendly vibe with surfers battling out in all divisions in very quite tricky conditions. The competition came down to the wire with Thurso, Dunbar and Moray all capable of winning the full competition with the right result in the final of the open mens event. Moray eventually edging it by a whisker from Dunbar, worthy winners with a very balanced team of great surfers!

The vibe was super positive all weekend from all the competitors and with the development of the junior scene at the heart of this competition the Scottish Surfing scene has a very positive future.

Thanks to all the local surfers who helped the Scottish Surfing Federation run12196161_982784398429959_7384153685388137768_n the event . We’d also like to thank the event sponsors Boardwise, Freeze Pro, Staunch, Coast to Coast and Farr Cabinet Makers for the really cool prizes and trophies. And also to joint organisers Coast to Coast and North Coast Surf Club and all the teams from all over Scotland for putting on a great comp. We’d also like to thank East Lothian Council, Dunbar Traders and Be Green Community Wind Power too for investing in the south east region for future competitions, events and youth development. Roll on 2016!!



Final Open Mens
1.    Andrew Robertson     Dunbar
2.    Jack Isherwood            Moray
3.    Chris Clarke        North Coast
4.    Mark Boyd        North Coast

Final Open Ladies
1.   Shona McGuiness        North Coast
2.   Megan  Mckay                Moray
3.   Diane Christopherson    Dunbar
4=   Phoebe Strachan         Dunbar
4=   Cat MacDonald              Moray

Final Masters
1. Craig Sutherland         Moray
2. Colin McGuiness        North Coast
3. Sam Christopherson    Dunbar
4. Ali Matheson              Moray
5. Alex                              Random Rippers

Final Juniors
1.    Andrew Robertson         Dunbar
2.    Ben  Larg                          Moray
3.    Megan McKay                  Moray
4.    Clover Christopherson    Dunbar

Final Longboard
1.  Chris Clarke                       North Coast
2.  Sam Christopherson        Dunbar
3.  Juvenal  Dufaur              North Coast
4.  Jamie Marshall            Dunbar

Team Results
1. Moray                610
2. Dunbar                600
3. North Coast             525
4 Random Rippers            170


2015-06-14 14.58.22

DUNBAR SURF SPRINTS BELHAVEN Sun 14th June 2015 thanks to the 30+ competitors that turned up to race in the sunny 2ft surf conditions.

  • WATERMAN RELAY TEAM won by a Dunbar collective.
  • SUP XL TEAM Fastest official team time by Dunbar collective, second Edinburgh Napier
  • LIFEGUARD  INDIV (300m run/swim/run) individual race won by Kev (Dunbar).
  • SURF PADDLE LEGEND INDIV  (200m surf paddle sprint) won by Neil (Berwick)
  • SUP SPRINT MASTER INDIV (200m SUP paddle sprint) won by Yvonne (Dunbar)
  • ULTIMATE WATERMAN (WOMEN) INDIV (100m Run/ 100m Swim/ 100m Surf paddle/ 100m SUP paddle). won by Adam (Edinburgh Napier).

All six events where handicap events with time advantages to 12&U, 14&U, 40yr+, 50yr+, female and beginners. Full results on our events and facebook pages.




Juniors (any board) and Adults Longboard and SUP divisions) Belhaven beach Was a super fun comp with a large turn out including 18 folk in the male longboard division. We where greeted with nice 2ft cross shore surf that stayed contestable all day!

SUP Surf
1st Nick (Newcastle)
2nd Simon (Newcastle)
3rd Jo (Northumberland)
4th Steve (Gullane)

Junior Surf
1. Elliott (Dunbar)
2. Michael (Glasgow)
3. Clover (Dunbar)

_D4A3367Ladies Longboard
1. Phoebe (Edinburgh)
2. Anna (Edinburgh)
3. Sarah (Longniddry)
4. Yvonne (Dunbar)

Mens Longboard
1. Tim (Edinburgh)
2. Sam (Dunbar)
3. Josh (Dunbar)
4. Kev (Edinburgh)

Most Rad moves Kev and Annabel
Best Wipeouts Stefan and Clover



Coast to Coast hosted Scotland’s top minds in coasteering to discuss best practice and latest safety. Attended by 7 Scottish coasteering operations, we where educated by environmental experts from the councils countryside management team P1030645on intertidal wildlife, before being briefed by Adventure licensing representatives over lunch in current best practice in coasteering. The afternoon was then spent with Dunbar Lifeboat team running through safety scenarios to improve response times and work collectively as a team on incident management. Thanks so much for the National Coasteering Charter, the RNLI local team, AALA rep Boab Telfer, Countryside ranger Tara Sykes and Steve at H2O Training for running such a good day.


SCOTTISH CHAMPS THURSO April 3rd-5th 2015. 

1) Chris Noble (Thurso)
2) Scott Main (Thurso)
3) Mark Cameron (Fraserburgh)
4) Andrew Robertson (St Andrews)

1) Shoana Blackadder (Thurso)
2) Phoebe Strachan (Dunbar)
3) Sheila Findlayson (Thurso)
4) Megan McKay (MacDuff)
1) Andrew Robertson (St Andrew’s)
2) Iona McLachlan (Thurso)
3) Megan MacKay (MacDuff)
1) Jason Burnett (Edinburgh)
2) Chris Noble (Thurso)
3) Mark Cameron (Fraserburgh)
4) Ali Matheson (Thurso)
1) Chris Clarke (Dunnet)
2) Iain Masson (Fraserburgh)
3) Mark Boyd (Thurso)
4) Donald Peace (Lossiemouth)
1) Josh Christopherson (Dunbar)
2) Tim Christopherson (Dunbar)
3) Max Ferguson-Hook (Dunbar)
4) Phoebe Strachan (Dunbar)
JUNIOR GIRLS CHAMPION: Iona McLachlan (Thurso)
GRAND KAHUNAS CHAMPION: Peter Strachan (Fraserburgh)
WAVE OF THE WINTER: Mark Boyd (Thurso)